A New Look at Giving up for Lent- Day 2

Feb 19, 2015

Day 2: Your Comfort Zone: It’s outside our comfort zones where new discoveries are made. (Phil Ressler 2-11-2015)

Proverbs 3:5-6~ “Trust in the Lord with all your heart. Lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight.”

Quotes:

“We are so accustomed to the comforts of “I cannot”, “I do not want to” and “it is too difficult” that we forget to realize when we stop doing things for ourselves and expect others to dance around us, we are not achieving greatness. We have made ourselves weak.” (Pandora Poikilos)

“Life always begins with one step outside of your comfort zone.” (Shannon L. Alder)

“Comfort… was the key ingredient to making the prisoner crave the prison.” (Ashim Shanker)

“Nobody ever died of discomfort, yet living in the name of comfort has killed more ideas, more opportunities, more actions, and more growth than everything else combined. Comfort kills.” (T. Have Eker)

“To the degree we’re not living our dreams, our comfort zone has more control of us than we have over ourselves.” (Peter McWilliams)

Pertaining to my life: Well, this week, I am planning on my comfort zone escape. It’s been a comfort zone escape in the works for a while, but on the back burner for a few months. Courage, kicking my own butt into gear, anxiety (which kills dreams as well) has held me back… But, I am going to do this… What is this?? I am joining bell choir. I met with the bell choir director just after Christmas but have been putting it off with as many excuses as I could come up with. My fiance is joining regular choir and I may sing too (the jury is still out on that one.) We sang a song in church not too long ago… It goes like this…

“All God’s creatures got a place in the choir; some sing low, some sing higher, some sing out loud on the telephone wire. Some just clap their hands or paws or anything they got.” I told the choir director that I sing on the telephone wire. He got a kick out of that. My fiance says I have a beautiful voice, but he is biased. The last time I sang in a choir (except for a few weeks -maybe a month at my one church in the adult choir) or played bells I was in 4th grade.. I am now 40 yrs old… I’ll let ya’ll do the math… It’s been a long time.. ha ha… I was however for about 2 months the kids’ choir director for K-2nd or 3rd grade (even though I had lots of help from a great organist/accompanist) in 2000 (so even then that was 15 years ago… πŸ™‚ I do however love music and glad to be back into it all… Scared, anxious and excited all at the same time. Afraid of screwing up, but either way, I will survive. I talked to my old (previous) bell choir director who directed me in my 3rd and 4th grade years. I had a different director my 1st and 2nd grade years. She plays bells at this church too. She used to teach at the school/church that I attended as a child and played. Funny how life works and comes full circle. God puts us in places for awesome reasons…

Blessings and Love on this bitterly cold day… We have not yet seen a warm day this winter… UGH… But, the sun is shining, so I am grateful yet again to just have longer days now that it is February and almost March…. πŸ™‚

LIL

Lent-631x295

Leave a comment